Visit The Hallett House Site On The 10th Annual Historic Tour
The charming Victorian, Hallett House was one of the earliest summer residences, built in the Estes Valley in 1881. As a young man William Hallett traveled west after graduating with an engineering degree from MIT. He was attracted by the wild beauty of the Rocky Mountains and discovered Estes Park when he stayed at the Ferguson’s ranch. He became a close friend of Horace Ferguson and bought three acres, adjacent to his Highland’s ranch, where he built his summer cottage.
An avid mountaineer Hallett, along with friends: Frederick Chapin, Abner Sprague and other early climbers, named many of the peaks in the park. He was instrumental in forming the first climbing club in Colorado. Hallett, eventually turned to ranching and in the next 20 years became one of the largest cattlemen in the region.
The house has withstood the tremendous winter winds of the valley as well as an earthquake shortly after it was built in 1884. The second floor of the house has traditionally been used as an attic. Interestingly, in three corners of the attic are large piles of river rocks that that provide additional structural support. On September 7th in 1881, the house was christened “Edgemont” with great fanfare, fireworks, and a large party. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places under “Edgemont.” Although it has passed through many owners over the years, the cottage remains in its original condition both inside and out. Currently it is used as dental office and it is faithfully preserved and maintained by the proud owners, the Oja family.
Visit the site of this exceptional example of Victorian architecture as part of the 10th Annual Historic tour sponsored by the Friends’ of the Estes Park Museum. This annual tour is a major fundraiser by the Friends and all proceeds will benefit the museum. On Saturday, September 14th, folks will return to the past to experience Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park just the way tourist and visitors did nearly a century ago. After an illustrated talk by Jim Pickering, Estes Park’s Historian Laureate, guests will board “touring” buses and begin an exciting day of historic exploration, visiting six sites with stops at a dozen more. For more information and tickets visit estesparkmuseumfriends.org/historic-tour. For tickets to be mailed, visit the museum with cash or check. Tickets are limited; don’t’ miss this unique “10th Anniversary Historic Tour.”
Photos courtesy Oja family website at eeojadds.com/history/