You Are Here: Home » Estes Valley Spotlight » Estes Park Museum Volunteers Give 5,500 Hours In 2008

Estes Park Museum Volunteers Give 5,500 Hours In 2008

The staff at Estes Park Museum would like to recognize its dedicated volunteers for service in excess of 5500 total hours during 2008. Volunteers ensure the success of a multitude of Museum operations.  They contribute their time and expertise greeting and orienting visitors at the front desk, in collections management, exhibits production, Hydroplant visitor services, conducting gallery tours, providing programs assistance and supporting special events offered by the Estes Park Museum Friends & Foundation, Inc. such as the Annual Historic Tour on June 28 and the Friends Membership Party on August 30.

The 2008 Museum volunteers were: Dave Albee, Barbara Anderson, Kerry Astleford, Ferrel Atkins, Eve Barber, John Barber, Sybil Barnes, Claire Beesley, Chuck Bonza, Dale Bonza, Dick Brown, Saundra Brown, Norm Carver, Red Carver, Madison Casey, Marty Casey, Donna Clark, Tom Collingwood, Gretchen Collingwood, Richard Cross, Holly Daley, Loretta DeWitt, Elaine Downing, Doug Fox, Penny Fox, Pat Greenberg, Jim Gunter, Nancy Gunter, Bob Hamblin, Joyce Hamblin, Bobbie Heisterkamp, Marshall Hesler, Alma Hix, Frank Hix, Sarah Holdt, Jim Hughes, Nancy Hughes, Sharon Jensen, Ken Jessen, Stan Jones, Harry Livingston, Mary Livingston, Glen Mapes, Anthony Miller, Jeannette Munkres, Sue Oakes, Mike Oline, Cheryl Pennington, Jim Pickering, Pat Pickering, Diane Roehl, John Roehl, Joann Rohrbacher, Gray Rueppel, Steven Rusch, Nancy Schiaffo, Bob Seifert, Mary Jo Seifert, George Shoffner, Liz Shoffner, Pat Skoog, John Spooner, Sue Spooner, Jan Swaney, Nancy Thomas, Scott Thompson, Verlene Thorp, John Tveitaraas, Alta Wachs, Bill Wachs, Linda Wold, Charlie Wright, Jane Wright and last but not least, Diane Yoblin.

The board members of the Estes Park Museum Friends & Foundation, Inc. volunteer hundreds of hours each year. Current members include John Roehl, president; Mike Oline, vice president; Verlene Thorp, treasurer; Ferrel Atkins, Marty Casey, Penny Fox, Bob Hamblin, Joyce Hamblin, Alma Hix, Ken Jessen, Harry Livingston, Cheryl Pennington, Jim Pickering, Nancy Thomas, Jane Wright and Eric Adams.  Foundation committee members include Dick Brown, Chair; Donna Clark, Glen Mapes, John Roehl, Bob Hamblin and Betty Kilsdonk, ex officio.

An additional forty Estes Park Car Club members and other volunteers contributed their time to the Parade of Years, the Estes Park Auto Extravaganza, and the July 4 Coolest Car Show benefitting the Museum. Volunteers receive hands-on training and orientation, invitations to volunteer-only events and programs and the satisfaction of sharing local history and culture with the Estes Park community. Individuals interested in joining this team of volunteers should contact Kate Rusch for more information by calling 970-577-3762 or emailing

The mission of the Estes Park Museum is to collect, interpret and preserve local history, as well as present exhibits, programs and events, for the education and benefit of residents and visitors of all ages. For more information call the Estes Park Museum at 586-6256 or visit the Museum’s website at The Museum is located at 200 4th Street and is open Friday and Saturday from 10 a.m. until 5 p.m. and Sunday 1 p.m. until 5 p.m. through the month of April. Admission is always free.

© 2014 Estes Park News, Inc

Scroll to top