Estes Park Museum Exhibit Opening The Stirling Legacy
Cherished for their artistic contributions, the father and son artistic duo Dave and Jack Stirling are remembered in a new exhibit entitled The Stirling Legacy at the Estes Park Museum. Dave, a landscape painter and Jack an illustrator were deeply connected to the community of Estes Park and the promotion of the Town to its visitors. Join staff for a free reception celebrating the exhibit’s debut on May 7th from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. at the Estes Park Museum located at 200 Fourth Street. Drinks and hors d’oeuvres will be provided.
Dave Stirling first came to Estes Park in 1916 pursuing his dream to live and paint in a cabin nestled in the mountains. He created and sold his numerous landscape paintings for more than fifty years, enriching the lives of the people around him. His son Jack, born in 1925, followed suite making illustrations and writing poems for sale to individuals and local businesses. The Stirlings worked and entertained visitors at the “Buggscuffle Ranch,” an art studio located off of Fall River Road near Horseshoe Park. The Ranch was a place where folks could drop-in, look at and talk about artwork with the artists.
Both father and son were writers and served as unofficial spokesmen for the community when traveling outside of Estes Park. Dave enjoyed a long, successful career; sadly Jack’s was cut short when he died abruptly due to heart complications at age twenty-nine. Dave continued to be an important contributor in the artist community and would later sell the Buggscuffle Ranch to Rocky Mountain National Park in 1970 and passed away in 1971.
The new exhibit presents finished artworks, sketches, and personal possessions, some on display for the first time. See Jack’s drawing desk, a dress Dave painted on directly for a young woman’s square dancing costume and much more. The exhibit offers family activities that challenge the visitor to discover more about the creative process and personal characteristics of both men. A journal invites you to recollect stories or impressions you may have of “The Stirling Boys.” The exhibit will run through April 10, 2011.
The Estes Park Museum is open Monday through Saturday from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. and Sunday from 1:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. The mission of the Estes Park Museum is to collect, interpret and preserve local history, as well as to present exhibits, programs and events for the education and benefit of residents and visitors of all ages. For more information call the Estes Park Museum at 586-6256 or visit the Museum’s website at www.estes.org/museum. Admission is free.